Skip to content

How About A Little Breather…

22 May 2010 @ 17:00

 

We all need a little breather.  And, hey, it’s Saturday Night and the lumpwort lickspittles of the Leftist god are off doing whatever it is pathetic parasites do in their sorry-ass social lives, so let’s kick back and relax a bit…

-Considering the success of last week’s All Things Music Edition, we’re going to fire-up one now that’s Mostly All Things Music, but, I can assure you, it will be All Things Fun.

-Just a reminder before we start: over at Eye Of Polyphemus, Jamie Jeffords has been doing the red-blooded men of America [and Elena Kagan] a grand favor this month by presenting his All Time Favorite Hottest Female Celebrities.  Since this is May, there are going to be a total of thirty-one of them.  Click here to get ’em all.

-As is our wont [or wonton if we’re in the mood for Chinese], we’ll start with some music provided by that great American Power Professor of Pop, Donald ‘Restraining Order’ Douglas: Piece Of My Heart by Janis Joplin.

-The good professor also provides with some visual diversion in the form of Hula Hoop Blogging!

-Over at Three Beers Later, Richard kicks things into high gear with some Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap featuring five songs by the great, patriotic, and [I think] hawt Joan Jett, THE greatest Rock ‘N’ Roll Chick evah.

-While your jammin’ to Joanie, catch up on the latest ‘sleazy, superficial, sensationalist celebrity news’ as reported by Stacy ‘TMZ’ McCain [bad news: Lindsey Lohan’s new show Celebrity Babe Lockdown is on hold].

-Next up rock and rollers, we’ve got Stogie, my good friend, who is always ready to Stand By Me.

-Over at The Daley Gator, Doug and Ed have been counting down The Daley Gators Top 25 Babes Of All Time.  You can enjoy all the ones done so far by clicking here.  One of my favorites is the under-appreciated Sela Ward.  They’ve also got a Special Rule 5 For The Ladies who feel ignored.

-Back when I was budding stud teenager [no, I don’t what happened], every late Sunday night I listened to a local college radio station where this budding AOR DJ used to play Firesign Theatre albums [with great titles like: How Can You Be in Two Places at Once When You’re Not Anywhere at All] and some deep album cuts from bands like Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, Deep Purple, and The Allman Brothers.  He was good…for a hippie, but he had one flaw: he hated the group Slade with a passion.  I could never understand why, except that maybe it was because the group actually cared what their fans thought instead of pursuing their ‘art’ with no consideration of the audience — I don’t know.  Anyway…this DJ used to hold a contest where, if someone answered a series of questions correctly, he would toss a Slade album on the train tracks behind the station.  Now that’s passionate hatred.  If you have never heard Slade, here’s your chance, thanks to The Reaganite Republican who also provides a short history of the band.  The song is a nice little number: Gudbuy T’Jane.

-My best chess friend [my only chess friend, although I do have some chest friends IYKWIMAITYD], Robert Pearson, has been a rollin’ and a Tumblr-in’ at his subsidiary site BAM! POW! OOF! and posting some great pictures [here’s a great one for all you car lovers].

-The great Rock And Roll vocalist and songwriter, Ronnie James Dio, passed away last weekend.  It’s not a time to be sad, but, rather, to celebrate his work.  Lipton T. Bagg does that and goes through Heaven And Hell to do so.  I celebrated his years with Rainbow with two selections.

-Hey, Pat Austin reminds us: It’s Beer Week!:

Because if we all had just a little more beer, especially some of those people in Congress, we’d all be a little better off.

Damn right, Pat, and thanks.  I owe you a round.

-Hey, all you hep cats, I have forgotten you and neither has you best friend in La Blogosphereo, Paco.  He’s got a hot bit of boogie-woogie from Andy Kirk And His Twelve Clouds of Joy, featuring the great pianist Mary-Lou Williams: Roll ‘Em.

-Since swing is the thing, let’s keep the joint jumpin’ with some Francis Albert who, it seems, is Learnin’ The Blues, but, at least he’s got some company: Ella and Louis…and Pundette.

-I don’t know about you all, but on these warn Spring Evenings, Mrs. Belvedere and I like to sit on our deck, enjoy sipping a cocktail while bathed in the rays of the setting sun and shade of our magnolia tree, listening to some sweet music.  One of favorites is The Band.  Over at the Washington Rebel, Virgil has loaded up some of their performances from The Last Waltz on the virtual turntable, so why do you do what’s good for your soul and head on over.

-Well, it’s time for me to go and prepare Rule 5 and then join Mrs. B. under the tree.  In addition to Virgil’s playlist, here’s two of the songs we’ll be listening to as the sun heads West…

We’ll start off with the gal who cursed the soul of The Mississippi Queen, here’s The Band with Emmylou Harris doing Evangeline:

To all my Friends In The Ether, I just want you to know: you can put the load, put the load right on me — I can handle The Weight:

8 Comments
  1. 22 May 2010 @ 17:39 17:39

    Interesting story Bob, re. Slade- some people just need something to hate, lol.

    I had a similar experience in how I first heard The Ramones- a guy on my floor yelled “this sucks” and threw their first album out the window. I was curious what could provoke such a reaction, so I wiped the snow off it and cranked it up- I loved it immediately, lol

    To each his own!

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      22 May 2010 @ 19:08 19:08

      To be closed-mined when it comes to music, is to miss out on a big chunk of the pleasure of living.

  2. 22 May 2010 @ 17:41 17:41

    PS- that Band video is a good one… Nazareth got their name from this song

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      22 May 2010 @ 19:09 19:09

      I had not known that – thanks.

  3. 22 May 2010 @ 20:26 20:26

    Heya Bob,

    Hope you and the Mrs’ are enjoying a lovely evening such as I find here! Nothin wrong with watchin the sun go down after an honest day on the planet…ahhh…I’m watching lovely trout jump in the river runnin behind my place after a hard day out tillin in the fields..we all have ta “take the load off”..and the weight is gettin might fierce…though we’ll shoulder it. Seems as if we alwaya have…

    Virgil sends….been awhile since I’ve been on the Danville train though…that bastard Stoneman..he done tore up the tracks again..

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      23 May 2010 @ 17:16 17:16

      It be nicer for Mrs. B. and me iffin Carmen’s friend weren’t stickin’ ’round.

Trackbacks

  1. Reading is Fun: Make it Viral | Conservative Hideout 2.0
  2. A few thank yous « The Daley Gator

Comments are closed.