Skip to content

Another Soliloquy From Our Macbeth

01 September 2010 @ 14:08

Unlike most of my Dear Readers who read my posting yesterday morning which [if I do say so myself] neatly summarized the Anti-President’s speech last night [thanks again to Paco Enterprises for the time machine] and were able to continue with their normal lives and avoid the Presidential pablum puke, some pundits I admire ignored me and put themselves through the Hell of watching it anyway.  Herewith, some of what they commented…

-Jonah Goldberg Fisks some of the speech rather wonderfully over at The Corner.  A highlight of what he wrote after a particularly galling set of statements by the Raging-Ego-In-Chief:

This is what really disgusted me. If you read this closely, what Obama is saying is that not only do we owe it to the troops to rally around his discredited and partisan economic agenda (“It’s our turn”), not only is it a test of our patriotism to sign on with his environmental and industrial planning schemes, but that doing so “must be our central mission as a people.”

I find everything about that offensive.

I find everything about the man-child offensive.

Victor Davis Hanson:

Most Americans will support President Obama’s call for patience in Afghanistan and his policy of continuing the long-planned drawdown in Iraq.

But there was something bizarre about his entire Iraq speech — it was as if it were being delivered by an exhausted Obama factotum, rather than the animate Obama of old. So we got a flat Iraq / flat Afghanistan / flat hope-and-change recession address. It almost seemed a chore.

Perhaps Obama’s ennui arises from the impossibility of squaring his circle. How could an erstwhile fierce critic of Iraq — as well as his diplomatic team (e.g., Biden with his loud wish to trisect Iraq, and Hillary Clinton with her “suspension of disbelief”)—convince us that Iraq was a “remarkable chapter”?

It all depends on what the meaning of ‘remarkable’ is to Barry.  Perhaps, he is  using it in the sense of his disbelief ‘that that idiot Bush was right about The Surge!’

-The Vodkapundit at least had the excuse for watching it that he was drunk blogging it.  His first entry [tip of the fedora to DaTechguy]:

4:53PM Tonight, after 18 tumultuous months in office, President Obama faces his toughest challenge yet: To claim credit in Iraq without driving a thankful nation to laughter and tears, but mostly laughter.

-I wish Vicki, proprietor of the Frugal Cafe Blog, would not be so restrained in her commentary and tell us what she really thinks:

POTUS has such a gnat’s attention span on anything that doesn’t circle around himself that he very likely assumes that Americans will instantly forget how he slammed and bashed the former president, erroneously predicting doom with the surge. Maybe those still drinking the Obama Kool-aid have forgotten, but no one else. WH Press Secretary Robert Gibbs can deceptively twist it and spin it from here ’til the jackasses come home, but that won’t change history.

Now that the surge has been deemed successful, Dear Leader will do a ridiculous 180-degree flip and happily take all credit for it.

Reminds me of Eddie Haskell from the old Leave It to Beaver series. Or Maj. Frank Burns from M*A*S*H. Or Dwight from The Office.

What a jerk.

Sorry for getting crude here, but, have you noticed that what’s going on The White House is like a neverending circle jerk?

6 Comments
  1. 01 September 2010 @ 15:09 15:09

    “Sorry for getting crude here…”
    Bob, you’ve been reading my blog again, haven’t you? I thought I warned you about that!
    Don’t let it happen again 🙂

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      01 September 2010 @ 16:35 16:35

      MNR: Smitty said you were a bad influence.

  2. 01 September 2010 @ 15:49 15:49

    I couldn’t watch the marxist maniac this time. I usually live tweet/blog it, but I really am glad I saved myself the torture this time, Bob. It was very predictable what he’d say.

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      01 September 2010 @ 16:36 16:36

      Bunni: Life’s tragic enough; you don’t need to add any more misery to it – good choice.

  3. 01 September 2010 @ 21:29 21:29

    Frugal Cafe has got it! Eddie Haskell!! That’s it exactly. I had this strange sense that I had seen this guy before somewhere. What that means, of course, is that you and I and the rest of us are the Beaver.

    Gee Eddie, I don’t know if Dad is gonna like you taking the car and wrecking it and all.

    Don’t look at me. It was your idea, Beaver. I guess you’ll just have to pay for it out of your allowance.

    Golly Eddie, I just said I wish I could go to the game. I didn’t say nothin about you driving it.

    So what, Beaver. He’s not gonna kill you. He’ll just make you work it off with your allowance or somethin.

    I don’t know, Eddie. How long do you think it will take me to work off the cost of the car on a 25 cent a week allowance?

    Don’t worry about it. Oh, hi Mrs. Cleaver! You look lovely in that new dress. Well, I better get going home now.

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      01 September 2010 @ 21:42 21:42

      Nicholas: Aw shucks, you’re good.

Comments are closed.