Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s Day [Updated at 1715]

14 February 2010 @ 00:01

Rhonda Fleming

 

UPDATE at 1715… 

-Russ, over at That’s Right, thinks that Valentine’s Day ‘Sucks’ [I disagree], but, at least, he provides some interesting Rule 5 pics. 

-An Ol’ Broad’s Ramblings proprietor, Kate, shows us graphically [in both senses] what she thinks of all the, as she puts it, ‘Sappy Mush.  Steve Burri does the forensic work and uncovers the undoctored shot

-Over at WyBlog, Chris feels differently and provides us with two Valentine gals: Kym Valentine and Karen Valentine [remember Room 222?].  The latter Valentine is a case study in a gal getting better looking with age. 

-Admiral William Teach charts a photographic course for V-Day over at The Pirate’s Cove

-Carol, mistress of No Sheeples Here, celebrates the Holiday with a linkfest and a great graphic [full disclosure: she links your Humble Dispatcher]. 

DaTechguy got a great Valentine’s Day gift.  

-I know its a little late now, but Stogie’s got some good, sharp advice for guys on buying a V-Day card for the ball and chain [and for the proper way to respond when she reads it (very important, that)].  Print it and save it for next year. 

-Theo Spark has posted a chart comparing Valentine’s Day and the day of your funeral

-Over at Washington Rebel, Rob De Witt ruminates on L’Eternal Feminin

-Trainwife1962 provides some wonderful historical prospective of the man the day was named after over at Mulieris Dignitatem

Paco sets the mood perfectly with Helen Forrest singing You Made Me Love You and Harry James soloing. 

-Pundette has some links to some great romantic music clips

-And here’s the greatest love song ever [Mrs. B. and I danced the last dance at our wedding to it and its my parent’s song] Bunny Berigan And His Orchestra performing I Can’t Get Started:

13 Comments
  1. 14 February 2010 @ 20:23 20:23

    Oh boy, Belvedere! A snazzy Cache.

  2. 14 February 2010 @ 23:13 23:13

    I agree with your take on my pair of Valentines. And, thanks for the link!

  3. 15 February 2010 @ 11:44 11:44

    Oh my! She was something wasn’t she?

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      15 February 2010 @ 12:07 12:07

      They don’t make ’em like that anymore.

  4. 15 February 2010 @ 16:19 16:19

    You guys are a bunch of saps.

    • bobbelvedere permalink*
      15 February 2010 @ 17:10 17:10

      Man…somewhere, somehow, along the line you got burnt bad…to a crisp.

      • 15 February 2010 @ 17:12 17:12

        To a bloody crisp Bob…a bloody, bloody crisp. In the game of life, Women, as beautiful as they are, are the fucking rake.

        h/t to Worm in “Rounders”

        I’m gonna keep comin’ back for more though, of that there is little doubt.

        • bobbelvedere permalink*
          15 February 2010 @ 17:28 17:28

          I was burned bad too and had to wait until I was nearly forty for the right gal to come along [we fit, IYKWIMAITYD]. I went through a lot of heartache, but, on the positive side, as a songwriter, it gave me a lot of great material to write about and I wrote my best stuff during those years.

        • 15 February 2010 @ 17:42 17:42

          Oh I know full well that I’m not special in this regard. In fact,
          I can’t say that a man has been through the full spectrum of
          male emotional intelligence if he hasn’t been. It’s all part of the
          crazy ride we call life.

          Problem is, I’m not a songwriter, (I can play a mean rhythm
          guitar though) so I’m relegated to howling at the moon like a
          maniac and trashing the “holiday” known as “Valentine’s Day”.

          Glib? Yes. Immature? Possibly. Good blog fodder? I think so.

          Thanks again Bob.

  5. 15 February 2010 @ 16:22 16:22

    With all due respect…of course.

  6. 15 February 2010 @ 16:57 16:57

    Thank you for the link!!!!! I am honored!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Sorta Blogless Sunday Pinup » Pirate's Cove
  2. That's Right

Comments are closed.